Home › Utilities › Dual Fuel › British Gas Dual Fuel

British Gas Dual Fuel

Rates and terms checked 7 October 2026 · Dual Fuel · Compare100 editorial team

Our interest: we have no affiliate arrangement with British Gas and earn nothing if you switch to them. The link on this page goes to British Gas’s own site. We list it because it is one of the six suppliers in this category, not because it pays us.

British Gas offers a £0 dual-fuel discount. Not a small one — none at all. Its own product catalogue carries a field called dual-gas-discount-description for every tariff it sells, and on all 67 of them the value is the same two words: “Not applicable”. The matching electricity field reads the same on 66 of the 67, with one left blank.

That matters because dual fuel is sold on the idea of a reward for consolidating. British Gas’s own guide hedges it carefully — you “may be able to access exclusive discounts and lower rates compared to managing them separately” — and then names no amount, no mechanism and no discount anywhere on the site. The same guide also tells you dual fuel “is not always the cheapest option”, which is the most useful sentence on it.

So what is dual fuel at British Gas? Convenience, stated plainly in their words: “one supplier, one contract, and one online account”. That is the whole of it.

Check what you would payOpens British Gas Dual Fuel in a new tab. It costs you nothing extra.
View Deals!
Dual-fuel discount“Not applicable” on all 67 British Gas tariffs, in its own catalogue
Combined standing charge84.51p a day — 54.83p electricity plus 29.68p gas
Fixed charges per year£308.46 before a single unit of either fuel
Share of a typical bill18% of Ofgem’s £1,723 typical dual-fuel figure
Electricity, Oct–Dec 202626.32p/kWh, 54.83p/day — the Ofgem cap average
Gas, Oct–Dec 20267.97p/kWh, 29.68p/day, including 5% VAT
VAT splitNo VAT on electricity 1 Oct 2026 to 31 Mar 2027; gas still 5%
Ofgem price cap£1,723 a year typical dual fuel, up 4%
Stale figure on their own pageTheir dual-fuel guide still cites £1,862 — £139 out of date
Hive discountUp to 15% off a Hive thermostat for energy customers
Direct Debit claim£106 a year against paying on receipt of a bill
Warm Home Discount£150 off the electricity account, winter 2026/2027
Exit fees£75 Winter Warmer, £100 Longer Fix, £150 Fixed Future; per fuel or per account not published
One bill or twoNot published. British Gas states one contract and one online account
Legal entityBritish Gas Trading Limited, company 03078711, part of Centrica plc

Two fuels means two standing charges, and they add up before you use anything

This is the number dual-fuel marketing never leads with. You pay a daily standing charge on each fuel, and they are both charged whether you use a unit or not. On the figures British Gas publishes as its October 2026 averages, which match the Ofgem cap for October to December 2026:

FuelUnit rateStanding charge
Electricity26.32p/kWh54.83p/day
Gas7.97p/kWh29.68p/day
Both—84.51p/day

84.51p a day is £308.46 a year in fixed charges before a single kWh of either fuel. Against Ofgem’s typical dual-fuel figure of £1,723, the standing charges alone are 18% of the bill.

British Gas confirms the mechanism itself: standing charges “apply to both gas and electricity”. There is no combined or discounted daily charge for taking the pair, which is precisely the kind of saving a dual-fuel discount would have delivered if one existed.

The two fuels are not moving together this winter

A quirk of the current cap period makes dual fuel worth thinking about as two separate decisions rather than one. There is no VAT on electricity from 1 October 2026 to 31 March 2027. Gas still carries 5%.

So the gas half of your bill is being taxed and the electricity half is not, for six months. Ofgem is explicit that its cap numbers for this period “can’t be compared directly with earlier periods” because of it. The cap itself rose 4% to £1,723 for a typical direct debit dual-fuel household.

The practical consequence: if you are judging whether to fix, the gas and electricity sides of the same tariff are not facing the same risk. The VAT relief on electricity has a known end date of 31 March 2027, and nothing published says what happens on 1 April.

A stale figure on British Gas's own dual-fuel page

Worth knowing if you are reading British Gas’s own material to make this decision. Its dual-fuel benefits guide still cites “Ofgem’s estimate of about £1,862 a year” for a direct debit dual-fuel household.

The current Ofgem figure is £1,723. The page is out by £139, and in the direction that makes the bill look worse than it is. We checked both on 7 October 2026.

It is not the only number British Gas does not keep straight. Across four of its own and Centrica’s pages the customer count is given as “over 7 million”, “7.5m residential energy customers”, “over 8 million customers” and “more than 8 million homes and businesses”. Only the 7.5m figure, on Centrica’s investor-facing page, is tied to a defined unit. None of this changes your bill, but it is a reasonable reason to check a British Gas figure against Ofgem before relying on it.

What you do get for taking both

Set against the absent discount, there are real things on the table — they are just not price reductions on the energy.

  • One contract and one online account for both fuels, in British Gas’s own words.
  • Up to 15% off a Hive thermostat for British Gas energy customers — 10% on some models, 15% on others when bought with professional installation.
  • £106 a year claimed for paying by Direct Debit rather than on receipt of a bill.
  • Warm Home Discount of £150 for winter 2026/2027, applied to the electricity account.
  • The same time-of-use tariffs as the electricity-only range, including an EV tariff at 9.5p off-peak and a heat pump tariff with half-price electricity for 70 hours a week.

And one oddity that proves the point about the discount. The only place British Gas pays more for dual fuel than single fuel is its refer-a-friend scheme, where the voucher is £50 for a dual-fuel switch against £25 for a single fuel. That is a referral payment to whoever introduced you, not a reduction in your tariff, and British Gas’s own terms restrict the scheme to personal contacts the referrer already knows.

What is not published, and should be

Two basic dual-fuel questions have no answer anywhere on britishgas.co.uk, and we looked properly.

Is it one bill or two? British Gas says “one supplier, one contract, and one online account”. It does not say one bill. Its own guide notes that “most energy companies will send you a combined gas and electricity bill” — written generically, about the market, not as a statement about British Gas. We could find no page that answers it directly.

One direct debit or two? Also unstated.

The third gap is the exit fee. Fixed tariffs carry £75 on Winter Warmer 2026, £100 on The Longer Fix and £150 on Fixed Future, but whether that is charged per fuel or per account is not published — and on a dual-fuel contract that is the difference between £100 and £200 to walk away. The terms say only that any exit fees “will be sent by email or post and will be in your online account”. Ask before you fix.

How it compares in this category

Dual fuel at British Gas is a convenience product priced at the cap, so the comparison worth making is against suppliers who do something structurally different with the bundle.

Utility Warehouse discounts the services as you add more of them, which is the multi-service reward British Gas does not offer. Alfred, reviewed in this category, charges a £195-a-year membership and claims to sell the energy itself at cost with no margin — the opposite structure, and it has not launched yet. Octopus and E.ON Next both score far above British Gas on the Citizens Advice service table.

If your reason for consolidating is one company to call and one app to look at, British Gas delivers that. If your reason is that two fuels with one supplier ought to cost less than two fuels with two suppliers, British Gas is not the supplier that agrees with you.

Where it wins

  • One contract and one online account for both fuels, which is what most people want from dual fuel
  • No exit fee and no end date on the Standard Variable tariff, so consolidating costs nothing to undo
  • Up to 15% off a Hive thermostat for energy customers
  • £106 a year claimed for paying by Direct Debit rather than on receipt
  • £150 Warm Home Discount applied to the electricity account for winter 2026/2027
  • The same time-of-use tariffs as the electricity range, including 9.5p off-peak on the EV tariff
  • No VAT on the electricity half of the bill until 31 March 2027

Where it falls short

  • There is no dual-fuel discount: “Not applicable” on all 67 tariffs in British Gas’s own catalogue
  • Two standing charges totalling 84.51p a day, or £308.46 a year before you use anything
  • British Gas’s own dual-fuel guide still quotes a £1,862 Ofgem estimate against the current £1,723
  • Whether dual fuel is one bill or two is not stated anywhere on their site, and nor is one direct debit or two
  • Whether a fixed-tariff exit fee is charged per fuel or per account is not published, which on dual fuel is the difference between £100 and £200
  • Standard Variable is priced at the Ofgem cap, so consolidating buys convenience and nothing else
  • Its own customer count appears as 7 million, 7.5 million and 8 million across four of its own pages
  • Utility Warehouse discounts services as you add them, which is the reward British Gas declines to offer

Common questions

Does British Gas give a dual-fuel discount?

No. The discount fields in British Gas’s own product catalogue read “Not applicable” on all 67 of its tariffs, and no amount or mechanism is published anywhere on its website. Its guide says you “may” access “exclusive discounts” without naming one, and also warns that dual fuel “is not always the cheapest option”.

What do two standing charges cost me?

On the October to December 2026 figures, 54.83p a day for electricity and 29.68p for gas — 84.51p combined, or £308.46 a year. You pay it whether you use anything or not, and it is about 18% of Ofgem’s £1,723 typical dual-fuel bill.

Is dual fuel one bill?

British Gas does not say. It states “one supplier, one contract, and one online account”, which is not the same claim, and its guide’s line about combined bills is written about the market generally rather than about British Gas. Whether you get one direct debit or two is also unpublished. If it matters to you, ask before switching.

Why is gas taxed and electricity not?

A temporary government measure removed VAT from electricity between 1 October 2026 and 31 March 2027. Gas keeps its 5%. It means the two halves of a dual-fuel bill are moving differently this winter, and Ofgem warns its own cap figures cannot be compared directly with earlier periods because of it.

If I fix and then leave, do I pay one exit fee or two?

Not published. The fees themselves are — £75 on Winter Warmer 2026, £100 on The Longer Fix, £150 on Fixed Future — but whether they apply per fuel or per account is not stated, and the terms defer to whatever is in your online account. On a dual-fuel contract that is the difference between £100 and £200, so get it in writing first.

Our verdict

Take British Gas dual fuel if you want one company, one contract and one app for both fuels, and understand that this is the entire benefit. There is no dual-fuel discount — British Gas says so itself in the product catalogue behind its own website, on all 67 tariffs — and the Standard Variable tariff is priced at the Ofgem cap. You will pay two standing charges totalling 84.51p a day, which is £308.46 a year before either fuel flows, and 18% of a typical bill. The things genuinely worth having are the time-of-use tariffs if you have a smart meter and a load you can move, the £150 Warm Home Discount, and the Hive discount. If your reason for putting both fuels in one place is that it ought to be cheaper than splitting them, look at Utility Warehouse, which does discount for adding services, and read the Citizens Advice table before you decide service is a secondary concern.

Ready to compare?Opens British Gas Dual Fuel in a new tab. It costs you nothing extra.
View Deals!

Figures were taken from each provider's own published terms on 7 October 2026. Variable rates can change at any time — confirm the current rate with the provider before applying.